Nifty Thrifty

Eric and I had a b-e-a-utiful Saturday here in Georgia today with the sun shining and temperatures reaching about 80 degrees. We had a few things we wanted to do today, including checking out a new antique/thrift store in Alabama. While I was getting ready I saw a picture online of a yard sale here in Columbus that had a dresser I wanted to check out. Well, I accidentally put “street” instead of “ave” into the address and we ended up in, well, a very ghetto part of town. Oops. We didn’t get killed so alls well that ends well, right?

We left that classy part of town and headed to uptown to check out the market they have every Saturday with vendors set up down two blocks. It was busy but there were quite a few craft tables there so I am tossing around the idea of setting up a table down there on Saturdays to sell the items I also sell on my shop.

After that we headed home for a quick lunch and grabbed the gps to head to Opelika, Alabama! There was a bike race going on in their historic downtown but the streets were pretty empty.

photo 3Opelika

The antique store was cute and had some interesting pieces. We walked around downtown for a little longer and then headed back towards home. We had passed another antique mall in the way in that I wanted to stop at so we ran to get a diet coke from McDonalds, because they have FANTASTIC diet cokes, and then did a little more thrifting.

photo 4
Items in the thrift shop and a cute door in downtown

photo 2Need a hand? Oh come on, that was hilarious!

There were a TON of booths and some really old, unique vintage items. We picked up an old window frame that I want to use for a project and then stopped in the thrift shop next door. We are looking for a two drawer file cabinet to fix up but didn’t find what we were looking for. I did pick up two mason jars so those will be painted tomorrow and should be up in the shop this week.

photo 5Window frame

Today was a great day and I am so thankful to be able to spend these days with Eric!

Oh, I ordered a few frames from Warby Parker to try on because I am in desperate needs of new glasses. What do you think? Warby Parker is an online eye wear shop that donates a pair for every pair purchased. Most of the frames and lenses are only $99 and they ship them to you to try on for free!

photo 1

2 responses to “Nifty Thrifty

  1. Have you ever considered publishing an ebook or guest authoring on other websites?
    I have a blog based on the same ideas you discuss and would love to have
    you share some stories/information. I know my audience would appreciate your
    work. If you’re even remotely interested, feel free to shoot me an email.

Leave a Reply

